Weather and Avalanche Log

Precip and wind are taken between 4-6 a.m. and are for the previous 24 hours. Precipitation is recorded in SWE from SNOTEL and Ski Areas
SNOTEL Locations: Brackett - Bridgers; Shower - Hyalite; Lone - Big Sky; Carrot - S. Madison; Madison - W. Yellowstone; Fisher - Cooke
Ski Area SWE: Alpine - Bridger; Timber - YC

Date Map Thumb Northern Areas Southern Areas Wind Speed Wind Direction Avalanche Activity Notes
Wednesday 11/25/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.1/1" Carrot
0.1/1" Madison
0.1/2" Fisher
10-20 G 25-45 W-SW
Tuesday 11/24/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
5-15 G20 Bridgers G40 W-NW
Monday 11/23/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
5-15 G20-30 SW-W
Sunday 11/22/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-25 G25-45 SW-NW
Saturday 11/21/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-15 G20-35 W-NW
Friday 11/20/20 0.1/2" Brackett
0.2/2" Shower
0.1/1" Timber
0.1/1" Carrot
0.2/1" Madison
0.3/3" Fisher
10-15 G30-40 SW-NW
Thursday 11/19/20 0.6/4" Alpine
0.2/2" Shower
0.3/3" Lone
0.7/3" Carrot
0.8/6" Madison
0.8/6" Fisher
15-20 G35-50 W-SW
Wednesday 11/18/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G45-60 S-SW
Tuesday 11/17/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
10-20 G30-45 SW-W
Monday 11/16/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.1/1" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
15-20 G35-60 SW-W
Sunday 11/15/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.1/1" Lone
0.2/2" Carrot
0.3/3" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
15-25 G30-50 W-SW
Saturday 11/14/20 0.2/1" Brackett
0.2/2" Shower
0.4/4" Timber
1.2/12" Carrot
1.0/10" Madison
0.8/9" Fisher
20-30
G45-75
W
Friday 11/13/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-30 G30-50 SW-W
Thursday 11/12/20 0.2/3" Brackett
0.3/4" Shower
0.1/2" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.1/1" Fisher
15-30
G50 Bridgers
W Small skier triggered slides in Northern Bridgers
Wednesday 11/11/20 0.2/3" Brackett
0.1/1" Shower
0.1/1" Lone
0.1/1" Carrot
0.2/3" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
10-20 G35-50 SW-W
Tuesday 11/10/20 0.1/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G35-55 SW-NW
Monday 11/9/20 0.1/2" Alpine
0.1/2" Shower
0.2/2" Lone
0.1/1" Carrot
0.3/4" Madison
0.3/4" Fisher
10-15 G25 E-S-SW-W
W-NW Cooke
Sunday 11/8/20 0.5/4" Alpine
0.5/3" Shower
0.4/3" Lone
0.4/3" Carrot
0.3/3" Madison
0.9/9" Fisher
5-20
G25-45
ENE-E-SE-S
Saturday 11/7/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G50 S-SW
Friday 11/6/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-35 G50 SW-W
Thursday 11/5/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G30-50 W-SW
NW-Cooke
Wednesday 11/4/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G45 W-SW
Tuesday 11/3/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-15 G30 W-SW
Monday 11/2/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-15 G25 SW-W
Sunday 11/1/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G30 W-SW
NW-Cooke
Saturday 10/31/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G30-60 W-SW Natural wind slab avalanches near Cooke
Friday 10/30/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
10-20 G40
5-15 G20 Cooke
W-SW
SW-N Cooke
Thursday 10/29/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G45
5-15 G25 Cooke City
W
W-NW Cooke City
Wednesday 10/28/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G40
G50 Bridger
W-NW
Tuesday 10/27/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-30
30-50 Bridger
W-SW
Monday 10/26/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
15-25 G35 W-NW Skier triggered wind slab at Bridger
Sunday 10/25/20 0.3/4" Brackett
0.2/3" Shower
0.1/1" Timber
0.3/3" Carrot
0.2/2" Madison
0.3/3" Fisher
10-20
35 G60 Bridger
SE-NE
Saturday 10/24/20 0.7/6" Alpine
0.4/3" Shower
0.3/3" Timber
0.6/5" Carrot
0.4/4" Madison
0.7/6" Fisher
10-25
G45
W-SW Cracking wind drifts in Cooke City
Friday 10/23/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
5-15 WSW
NW-Cooke
Avalanches and cracking in Frazier Basin;
Small avalanche on Sphinx Mountain;
Loose snow avalanches on Blackmore
Thursday 10/22/20 0.4/8" Alpine
0.3/3" Shower
0.0/2" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.5/3" Madison
0.8/4" Fisher
5-15 G30 W-NW Widespread dry loose in Hyalite
Wednesday 10/21/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.9/6" Fisher
15-20 G35-40 NW-W
Tuesday 10/20/20 0.2/2" Brackett
0.7/5" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.8/6" Fisher
15-20 G 40-50 SW-NW

@0700

Monday 10/19/20 1.1/5" Brackett
1.1/5" Shower
0.3/3" Lone
0.7/4" Carrot
0.2/1" Madison
1.3/9" Fisher
10-20 G40-50 NW-W Natural avalanches near Fairy Lake
Sunday 10/18/20 0.4/3" Brackett
0.4/3" Shower
0.1/1" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.5/4" Fisher
15-30 G50 NW-W
Saturday 10/17/20 0.2/0" Brackett
0.5/0" Shower
0.2/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Lionhead
1.0/4" Fisher
20-30 G50 W

Precip mostly rain overnight 10/16. Temps dropping and switching to snow on morning of 10/17.

Friday 10/16/20 0.2/2" Brackett
0.3/3" Shower
0.1/1" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
15-25 G40
W
NW Cooke

@0600

Thursday 10/15/20 0.2/3" Brackett
0.5/5" Shower
0.1/1" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
10-20 G30-40 W-NW

@0600

Wednesday 10/14/20 0.9/0" Brackett
0.7/0" Shower
0.5/0" Timber
0.2/0" Carrot
0.2/0" Madison
1.6/3" Fisher
30-40 G50-70
G80 Hyalite
W

Precip mostly rain evening 10/13, some wet snow high near Cooke.

Tuesday 10/13/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.1/1" Fisher
15-30 W-SW
Monday 10/12/20 0.0/0" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
20-50 W-SW
Sunday 10/11/20 0.6/0" Brackett
0.7/1" Shower
0.6/0" Lone
0.6/1" Carrot
0.7/0" Madison
0.7/6" Fisher

@1pm: Measurements are Preciptation (inches) instead of SWE. Lower elevations had rain, and snow depths varied from 0-6".